The BBC is to stream dozens of World Cup matches live in 4K resolution and high dynamic range colour (HDR) to UK-based audiences in June and July.

So you want to watch the World Cup 2018 in beautiful 4K HDR well this year you can with BBC iPlayer and a compatible TV. The term 4K Рwhich is sometimes referred to as being ultra-high definition (UHD) Рrefers to the fact that an image contains four times as many pixels as a 1080p high definition picture.

This can reveal details that would otherwise be obscure – including the notes written on a yellow or red card, or the time on a referee’s watch.

Many people, however, have found that it is HDR that provides the biggest “wow factor”.

The technology takes advantage of the fact modern TVs can go brighter and/or darker than they used to, providing a greater dynamic range.

As result, the shadows of an image can be made less murky while the highlights – including glints of light reflected off metal or water – can be given more impact.

BBC iPlayer World Cup 2018

World Cup Streams are limited

All 29 of BBC One’s World Cup matches are scheduled to be made available in 4K and HDR. But each will be limited to a few thousand people. So you need to be quick to jump on to a stream. Oh and you will need a pretty fast connection. The minimum recommended is 40Mbit/s. So it is unlikely to work on mobile connections.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup kicks off on Thursday June 14th at 4pm BST (ITV will show the opening match plus the opening ceremony), but these following 29 BBC One matches are the ones that will be available in 4K on iPlayer.

Group stages

Friday 15th June  Egypt v Uruguay (A) 1pm (BBC One)

Friday 15th June  Portugal v Spain (B) 7pm (BBC One)

Saturday 16th June  France v Australia (C) 11am (BBC One)

Saturday 16th June  Peru v Denmark (C) 5pm (BBC One)

Sunday 17th June  Germany v Mexico (F) 4pm (BBC One)

Monday 18th June  Belgium v Panama (G) 4pm (BBC One)

Monday 18th June  Tunisia v England (G) 7pm (BBC One)

Tuesday 19th June  Colombia v Japan (H) 4pm (BBC One)

Tuesday 19th June  Russia v Egypt (A) 7pm (BBC One)

Wednesday 20th June  Portugal v Morocco (B) 1pm (BBC One)

Wednesday 20th June  Uruguay v Saudi Arabia (A) 4pm (BBC One)

Thursday 21th June  Argentina v Croatia (D) 7pm (BBC One)

Friday 22nd June  Nigeria v Iceland (D) 4pm (BBC One)

Friday 22nd June  Serbia v Switzerland (E) 7pm (BBC One)

Saturday 23rd June  Belgium v Tunisia (G) 1pm (BBC One)

Sunday 24th June  England v Panama (G) 1pm (BBC One)

Sunday 24th June  Japan v Senegal (H) 4pm (BBC One)

Monday 25th June  Spain v Morocco (B) 7pm (BBC One)

Tuesday 26th June  Nigeria v Argentina (D) 7pm (BBC One)

Wednesday 27th June  South Korea v Germany (F) 3pm (BBC One)

Thursday 28th June  Senegal v Colombia (H) 3pm (BBC One)

Last 16

Sunday 1st July  1B v 2A (Match 51) 3pm (BBC One)

Monday 2nd July  1E v 2F (Match 53) 3pm (BBC One)

Monday 2nd July  1G v 2H (Match 54) 7pm (BBC One)

Tuesday 3rd July  1H v 2G (Match 56) 7pm (BBC One)

Quarter-Finals

Friday 6th July  Winner 49 v winner 50 (57) 3pm (BBC One)

Friday 6th July  Winner 53 v winner 54 (58) 7pm (BBC One)

Semi-Finals

Wednesday 11th July  Winner 59 v winner 60 7pm (BBC One)

Final

Sunday 15th July Winners of two semi-finals 4pm (BBC One)

world cup players

No 4K TV but want to stream on the go

Fear not folks because if you do not yet have a 4K TV or you are out and about during the game you want to watch then there is a way you can stream all the games to your phone to tablet using Three’s Go Binge service.

Along with services such as Snapchat Three have zero rated TV Player so all you need to do is sign up to TV Player be on a compatible plan and away you go get streaming from a beach, park or anywhere you have signal.